Glogster’s Revenge: A Reflection Tool

I was reading a blog post by Andy, a colleague of mine.  I was very interested in the visual of Vito Corleone (which is slightly repeating a 3 second clip).  I have seen these for years and never found out how they were created?  Until today!
giphy

This is from a website called “Giphy.” You can essentially find expressions and everything visual from this site.  The one I chose is from  Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.  I tried to give proper credit to the movie, but alas, we are behind the times in technology.  It is moving faster than we can keep up!  There are many ways you can use Giphy but I’m not so sure it is a tool that would be considered a tool for students to use in the public setting, which could lead to copyright infringement.  However, in a private domain…it might be allowed?  If used in the classroom, I’m not sure that we would be promoting good digital citizenship to our students?

Students can create their own Giphy using a selection of video clip…this could be pretty cool to use in their presentations on Eportfolio.  They could have someone take a video clip of them working, they make it a Giphy, then they can use it as “fun” evidence for their creating process (assessment criteria).  I also think this could be fun tool for our graphic design unit. They could film their work as they are making it (on an Ipad) and then create a Giphy and have them scrolling on a television screen, visible for our semester ending art exhibition.  It would be nice to have the flat, printed work complemented by an actual moving graphic?

It is real easy to create one —->                  Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 8.08.08 AM

In addition, I found out that you can use Glogster in conjunction with Giphy. Essentially, I was thinking that students could use Glogster as a reflective tool?  However there are many other uses it could provide according to this Blogspot posting and here are some highlights for the Art classroom:

Flipped Classroom
When students are absent, or YOU are absent, or when you need to spend more time helping your students work the work rather than learn the material in the initial lesson, flipping the classroom is all the rage!  With Glogster EDU is it as easy as 1-2-3 or click, embed, click.  Glogs allow for videos, links, audio, podcasts, information, interaction, and photos.  You can embed an entire week’s worth of lessons into one glog and have kids work at their own pace or on a schedule.

Art Gallery
Have students upload their artwork into a glog facilitated art gallery!  This is a great way for them to add commentary about their projects, the techniques being used, and even the historical impact of artists who pioneered the techniques!  This idea creates much more than a visually appealing gallery experience.  It becomes a digital interactive experience!

This would be super to incorporate with videos made from Youtube or imovie.  Take photos of artwork made in class and/or pages from a student sketchbook.  This is another instance of how students can not only reflect, but also document their learning.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glogster’s Revenge: A Reflection Tool

  1. preeh1 says:

    Hi Dennis,

    Andy and I were introduced to Glogster on a previous SUNY course we did last year. It seems like it oculd be a really fun and interactive tool. We used it to make a sort-of portal to different information on quantum physics and chemistry. We went heavy on the Gifs, which is fun! The main issue with Glogster that we found was that because it’s so “graphics heavy” it took ages for the page to load up. This may be due to our overindulgence in the Gifs, but it seemed like a bit of a drawback to the program to me. I’d like to know if you have success using it in the future.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your post Dennis. Your personality really comes out well in your writing. Thanks for the information on Giphy. I’ve seen tons of those gifs before as well so now I know how to make one. I’ve used Glogster twice before in a school setting. The first time it was with a grade 4 class four years ago and my students and I found in clunky and difficult to use. I used it again last year and didn’t find it much better. I found it was difficult to upload material and would be a nightmare in promoting digital citizenship as you’re grabbing video and pictures from all over the web. I’ve never used in again. There are lots of tools that are easier to use in my humble opinion.

    Like

Leave a comment